Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Stats and notes from the 2024 Kansas Shrine Bowl

Posted in:

The 51st annual Kansas Shrine Bowl was played on June 29th and saw East prevail over West 36-25, their first win in the contest since 2018.

  • Article Image Alt Text

The  following records were broken in this year's Shrine Bowl contest:

Most Passing Attempts in Game: J. Brooks Kappelmann, Liberal, 51 (prev. record 32 by Garrett Fugate, Blue Valley NW, 2012)

Most Passing Completions in a Game: J. Brooks Kappelman, Liberal, 29 (prev. record 17 by Phil Miller, Kapaun Mt. Carmel, 1974)

Most Passing Yards in a Game: Dylan Dunn, Blue Valley SW, 307 (prev. record 256 by Phil Miller, Kapaun Mt. Carmel, 1974)

Most Passing TD in a Game: Dylan Dunn, Blue Valley SW, 4 (prev. record 2 by 5 others)

Most Receivinig TD in a Game: Adrion Seals, Eudora, 2 which tied the prev. record of 2 held by Reuben Eckles, Wichita SE, 1980.

Longest Blocked Punt Return for TD: Brody Hayes, Clay Center, 20 yards (prev. record 0 yards blocked in endzone)

This was the East's first victory since 2018. West had won 4 of the last 5, with 2022 ending in a tie. Overall series record is now 31-18-2 in favor of the West.

The 36 points scored by the East is the 2nd most all-time by the East, only the 2016 East Team that won 48-27 (also in Emporia) had scored more points.

The 59 total points scored is the 5th highest scoring Kansas Shrine Bowl all-time.

2024 Shrine Bowl Award Winners
Gary Spani Award East MVP (voted on by working media)
Dylan Dunn, Blue Valley SW

Paul Coffman Award West MVP (voted on by working media)
Brody Hayes, Clay Center

Russ Riederer Most Inspirational Award East (voted on by teammates, coaches & staff)
Holden Bass, Nemaha Central

Mike Bell Most Inspirational Award West (voted on by teammates, coaches & staff)
J. Brooks Kappelmann, Liberal

Paul & Lucy Miller Outstanding Impact Award East (given to the top fundraiser)
Dalton Roush, Holton

Paul & Lucy Miller Oustanding Impact Award West (given to the top fundraiser)
Kooper Tichenor, Holcomb

See individual game stats below: